The Data Protection Authority

The Data Protection Authority is an independent public authority set up in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

The Data Protection Authority consists of a Council and a Secretariat and is responsible for the supervision of all processing of personal data in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

Five people work at the Secretariat which is headed by a Director. The Secretariat attends to the day-to-day business.

The Council consists of five members who are appointed by the Minister responsible for data protection (at this time the Prime Minister). The chairman must be a lawyer. Two of the members are nominated by the Accociation of Municipalities and the Faroe Employers' Association respectively.

Members of the Council are appointed for a term of four years. The Council lays down its own rules of procedure and detailed rules on the division of work between the Council and the Secretariat.

The main objective of the Data Protection Act is to protect persons when personal data is being processed.

Through information, dialogue, complaints and inspection the Data Protection Authority supervises that other public authorities, public and private companies, organizations and individuals follow data protection legislation.

Adequacy Decision by the European Commission

Pursuant to Commission Decision of 5 March 2010 the Faroe Islands are considered by the European Union to provide an adequate level of protection relating to processing of personal data. Personal data may therefore be transferred from the European Union to the Faroe Islands without any specific authorisation.